I'm supposed to create a program for a school concert

Hi friends,

I’m new here and not a designer, but I found Mr. Butterick’s site because I want to do a good job with this task I’ve been given.

My kid’s junior high was asking for help to create a program / bulletin for the public school’s orchestra concert. I’ve been reading over Practical Typography but I have no experience and no budget; I just have a computer and MS Word & Pages. But it’s one of those things that wasn’t going to happen if I didn’t do it, so I figured amateur > nothing.

There are several levels:
Top level (after the cover) is the ensembles. (Full Orchestra / Jazz / 6th / 7th / 8th).
After that is the timing: “classic” or “modern”
And then the name of the piece, the writer of the piece, and any soloists.

I’ve been looking at the “resume” as a possible template with the different levels but I’d appreciate any suggestions. Sorry I’m new to this, I appreciate your help if you can.

My wife has a violin and piano studio, and recital programs are my job. Here’s the approach I use to make a program that fits on a single 8.5"⨉11" paper folded in half like a booklet.

1. Create two separate Word/Pages documents, one for the front and back cover, and one for the inside of the program. (You could do them all as one document, but when fiddling with stuff sometimes overflow or other side effects from the first page break the formatting in the next, so I find it simpler to keep them separate.)
  2. In each of the two documents, set the page to a 2-column layout in landscape orientation.
  3. In the front/back cover document, the left column is your back cover and the right column is your front cover. In the other document, the left column is the left inside of the booklet and the right column is the right side (as you would expect). Further down are some screenshots to help explain.
  4. For the inside document, create a two-column table that flows across the two columns. You can see the example below.