Build a navigation sidebar using the page tree

Hello! I am very new to Pollen and everything about Racket. I wrote an (yet) unpublished novel, and I was looking for a tool such as Pollen for ages because I wanted precise semantic markup, and a single source file for any output. Big thanks to Matthew and contributors for having created and released Pollen!

But let’s stop the digressions. Regarding my issue…

I have followed the tutorials and have been able to build an HTML page using custom tags and template. The chapters render nicely.

Now, I would like to include the page tree in the page, to help the user navigate between my book chapters.

Unfortunately, I didn’t find any magical helper in the tutorials nor the docs. So I assumed I had to build it myself using the existing pagetree functions. My research led me to this code snippet inside my template.html.p:

<colonne-gauche>
        ◊(pagetree->list (current-pagetree))
      </colonne-gauche>

I currently have two files listed in the index.ptree: chapitre1.html and chapitre2.html.

From what I understand from the manual, pagetree->list gives this result: '(chapitre1.html chapitre2.html) which then translates to chapitre1.htmlchapitre2.html in the final render.

My objective is to encapsulate the elements in a <a href="srcref">Pretty chapter name</a> and other HTML markup (<ol> and such), with “Pretty chapter name” either a static title defined in the pagetree (would it be possible?) or in a variable inside the linked document (it seems not very efficient).

How can I achieve that? I would be very thankful to have code snippets to improve in writing in the racket / pollen syntax.

In general, you would want to do something similar to what I do for my own site – namely, to recurse on the structure of the pagetree.

If you don’t have nested pagetrees, then you can take the simpler approach of mapping each node into an X-expression.

1 Like